OFF TOPIC: On Being "Woke" And The Race Card

I’m an author (or about to be) and a site I subscribed to published an article which I glanced through; it turned out that I rarely use the “politically incorrect” terms cited in my writing, not because I’m, making any point but because they just don’t suit my style.

Kathy Steinemann - 900+ Gender-Neutral Terms

I saw some of the comments and, stupidly, “got into one” with the author. She was blathering on about gender mattering and the small group of liberals (which I guess I am) being allowed to dictate the way we speak. I pointed out that the standard gender phrasing is only what it is because it has become embedded over time in various cultures and that no one was saying SHE had to adopt such terminology and said, “if woke is being aware of climate change, racism, greed and all the other nastiness going on in the world, then hell yes, I’m woke.”

Her reply surprised me (though it really shouldn’t have).

“I could educate you on the hoax known as “Climate Change” and that Marxism is behind encouraging blacks to play the “race card” to keep racism going, and much more, but I’m busy and realize that anyone who considers themselves “woke” is probably not going to listen to logic or factual evidence.”

I get the hoax thing (something the right wing have been pushing for years) but what the f*** is this Marxism/race card sh**?

3 Likes

Yeah ! That religious nut seems to think that without Marx, no black person would have noticed that “race” played a role in american slavery and seggregation. And according to her, apparently scientists are lying about climate change to increase taxes :joy:.

And coming to the article, I think the author took it far by portraying “human” as a gendered word. I don’t think anyone would think of only males, when they read “humans”.
Just like below where the author themself seems to have not noticed that “fraternity” comes from “frater” i.e., “brother”