Bug Report: Quote Tag

Just reporting a bug that affects the various quote tags. Namely, if the text being quoted consists of multiple paragraphs, separated in the editor with line breaks, then the quoting function fails to work properly.

A workaround is to keep a copy offline (e.g., in Notepad or something homologous on operating systems other than MS Windows), keep the line breaks in the offline copy, but remove them and insert HTML break tags in their place. However, this does make for the dreaded “wall of text” syndrome in the forum editor, and requires some diligence to navigate properly.

Can we have a fix for this please?

1 Like

I’m no expert, and line breaks mean many different things to me. Can you post an example?

eta: Like make a post in this thread with a quote that is messed up maybe.

Easily enough done.

If I type in the editor the following:

[quote]Here is one line of text, followed by pressing ENTER twice in the editor

And here is another line[/quote]

you get the following:

[quote]Here is one line of text, followed by pressing ENTER twice in the editor

And here is another line[/quote]

Whereas what you SHOULD get is this:

To produce the above, you need to type in:

[quote]Here is one line of text, followed by pressing ENTER twice in the editor<br><br>And here is another line[/quote]

Hopefully this clarifies the nature of the bug. :slight_smile:

1 Like

I think a better solution is to use “blockquote”; as I think that is what this tag is for (quoting many lines).

Raw code:

> I like turtles!
> 
> 
> And cats!

Displayed as:

I like turtles!

And cats!

2 Likes

I couldn’t figure out how to easily do what you wanted with [quote] tag.

I think when the parser sees new line characters, it auto-creates the terminating tag (like [/code] or [/quote]) to close out the current block. Which is ruinous to what you are trying to do (if I understand you). Again, I recommend blockquote instead.

1 Like