Abiogenesis, the achilles heel of Atheists

Why would anyone believe that life can come from none life. I know you have your theories but they don’t make sense or are scientific. Life from non-life implies at the very least, intelligent design. This used to be called common sense. What happened?

Can somebody provide the best evidence for life coming out of non-life?

So where did the intelligence for intelligent design come from? Was it from non-intelligence, or did it design itself? Does that sound more sensible and scientific to you?

5 Likes

Greetings, verysimple,

Atheism is only a position on belief in a deity (Atheism is specifically a lack of belief in a deity,) and as such, Atheists have no single position on the origin of life except to say that it doesn’t include a deity.

That said, and while I have no knowledge of the origin of life, I do know that living things are comprised of basic elements (e.g. Carbon, Nitrogen, Oxygen, Hydrogen, Calcium, Iron, trace elements of Copper, Zinc, etc.) These elements form molecules in amino acids, Membranes, Protoplasm, Cytoplasm, Riboneucleic Acid (RNA,) Deoxyriboneucleic Acid (DNA,) and other components of living things.

I also know that elements form compounds, and compounds form more complex compounds such as crystals, all without any apparent living or conscious direction and could very easily form components of living things and living things themselves. Thus, abiogenesis is not incompatible with what I and others know is true of Elements and Compoinds. No Achilles’ Heel for me.

1 Like

It has been proven in theory and experiment in the lab that you can create the building blocks of life by combining a solvent (usually water) with certain chemicals and adding energy.

1 Like